Connecting Point Ministries

March 15, 2017

The Holy Ghost Prophecies Fulfilled

Filed under: God, Holy Spirit — Tags: , , , , — cpministries @ 9:52 pm

In this lesson we are going to be speaking on the precious gift of the Holy Ghost, the Holy Spirit, the Spirit of Christ, the Comforter.  This first lesson of this five part series on the Holy Ghost is going to be showing the Old Testament prophecies concerning the Holy Ghost and how these prophecies were fulfilled in the New Testament Covenant.

In the transition of the Old Testament Covenant to the New Testament Covenant Jesus speaks of the Comforter, which is the Holy Spirit, the Spirit of truth that will dwell within us…….

John 14:16-18
16  And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever;
17  Even the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth him not, neither knoweth him: but ye know him; for he dwelleth with you, and shall be in you.
18  I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you.

We are told by the Apostle Paul that if we do not have this Spirit of Christ, the Spirit of God, which is the Holy Spirit, that we are none of His.

Romans 8:9
9  But ye are not in the flesh, but in the Spirit, if so be that the Spirit of God dwell in you. Now if any man have not the Spirit of Christ, he is none of his.

So you can see that it is of the utmost importance that you have the Holy Ghost dwelling inside of you!!

Let us move into the Old Testament prophecies concerning the coming of the Holy Ghost.

Isaiah 28:9-12
9  Whom shall he teach knowledge? and whom shall he make to understand doctrine? them that are weaned from the milk, and drawn from the breasts.
10  For precept must be upon precept, precept upon precept; line upon line, line upon line; here a little, and there a little:
11  For with stammering lips and another tongue will he speak to this people.
12  To whom he said, This is the rest wherewith ye may cause the weary to rest; and this is the refreshing: yet they would not hear.

Here in verses 11-12 the Prophet Isaiah has prophesied of the coming of the Holy Ghost.

Now listen to the Prophet Jeremiah as he prophesies of the New Covenant that will be established.  This Covenant is referring to the New Testament Covenant that we are living under today.

Jeremiah 31:31-34
31  Behold, the days come, saith the LORD, that I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel, and with the house of Judah:
32  Not according to the covenant that I made with their fathers in the day that I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt; which my covenant they brake, although I was an husband unto them, saith the LORD:
33  But this shall be the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel; After those days, saith the LORD, I will put my law in their inward parts, and write it in their hearts; and will be their God, and they shall be my people.
34  And they shall teach no more every man his neighbour, and every man his brother, saying, Know the LORD: for they shall all know me, from the least of them unto the greatest of them, saith the LORD: for I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more.

The Prophet Joel also prophesies of the coming of the Holy Ghost……..

Joel 2:28-29
28  And it shall come to pass afterward, that I will pour out my spirit upon all flesh; and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, your old men shall dream dreams, your young men shall see visions:
29  And also upon the servants and upon the handmaids in those days will I pour out my spirit.

Now that we understand from the Old Testament that the prophets of old prophesied of the gift of the Holy Ghost that was to come, we will continue our study into the time of Jesus who was still living under the Old Testament, and then to the New Testament fulfillment where these prophecies find their fulfilment when the day of Pentecost had fully come.

Here John the Baptist prophecies of the Holy Ghost that was soon to come…..

Luke 3:16
16  John answered, saying unto them all, I indeed baptize you with water; but one mightier than I cometh, the latchet of whose shoes I am not worthy to unloose: he shall baptize you with the Holy Ghost and with fire:

A quick reminder:  To partake of the New Testament Covenant, Jesus tells us in (Lk 13:3, 5) I tell you, Nay: but, except ye repent, ye shall all likewise perish.  And in (Mk 16:16) He that believeth and is baptized shall be saved; but he that believeth not shall be damned.  And in (Jn 3:5) Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born of water and of the Spirit, he cannot enter into the kingdom of God.

So in quick summary, you must repent of your sins, be baptized, and then receive the Holy Ghost to fulfill the New Testament Covenant of salvation.

Jesus speaking to a woman of Samaria concerning the Holy Ghost that was soon to come…..

John 4:10-14
10  Jesus answered and said unto her, If thou knewest the gift of God, and who it is that saith to thee, Give me to drink; thou wouldest have asked of him, and he would have given thee living water.
11  The woman saith unto him, Sir, thou hast nothing to draw with, and the well is deep: from whence then hast thou that living water?
12  Art thou greater than our father Jacob, which gave us the well, and drank thereof himself, and his children, and his cattle?
13  Jesus answered and said unto her, Whosoever drinketh of this water shall thirst again:
14  But whosoever drinketh of the water that I shall give him shall never thirst; but the water that I shall give him shall be in him a well of water springing up into everlasting life.

Jesus speaking again of the Holy Ghost that was soon to come……

John 7:37-39
37  In the last day, that great day of the feast, Jesus stood and cried, saying, If any man thirst, let him come unto me, and drink.
38  He that believeth on me, as the scripture hath said, out of his belly shall flow rivers of living water.
39  (But this spake he of the Spirit, which they that believe on him should receive: for the Holy Ghost was not yet given; because that Jesus was not yet glorified.)

Here Jesus explains to His disciples of the Holy Ghost, or the Comforter, even the Spirit of Truth, that was soon to come…..

John 14:26; 15:26; 16:7
14:26  But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.
15:26  But when the Comforter is come, whom I will send unto you from the Father, even the Spirit of truth, which proceedeth from the Father, he shall testify of me:
16:7  Nevertheless I tell you the truth; It is expedient for you that I go away: for if I go not away, the Comforter will not come unto you; but if I depart, I will send him unto you.

Here Jesus explains to his disciples the message they should preach after the Holy Ghost comes upon them…..

Luke 24:46-49
46  And said unto them, Thus it is written, and thus it behoved Christ to suffer, and to rise from the dead the third day:
47  And that repentance and remission of sins should be preached in his name among all nations, beginning at Jerusalem.
48  And ye are witnesses of these things.
49  And, behold, I send the promise of my Father upon you: but tarry ye in the city of Jerusalem, until ye be endued with power from on high.

Just prior to Jesus ascending into Heaven, He explains that after the receiving of the Holy Ghost, that they (and us) will receive power to become His witnesses to the uttermost part of the earth………….

Acts 1:3-8
3  To whom also he showed himself alive after his passion by many infallible proofs, being seen of them forty days, and speaking of the things pertaining to the kingdom of God:
4  And, being assembled together with them, commanded them that they should not depart from Jerusalem, but wait for the promise of the Father, which, saith he, ye have heard of me.
5  For John truly baptized with water; but ye shall be baptized with the Holy Ghost not many days hence.
6  When they therefore were come together, they asked of him, saying, Lord, wilt thou at this time restore again the kingdom to Israel?
7  And he said unto them, It is not for you to know the times or the seasons, which the Father hath put in his own power.
8  But ye shall receive power, after that the Holy Ghost is come upon you: and ye shall be witnesses unto me both in Jerusalem, and in all Judaea, and in Samaria, and unto the uttermost part of the earth.

Just 10 days later the disciples of Christ were all gathered together…….

Acts 2:1-4
1  And when the day of Pentecost was fully come, they were all with one accord in one place.
2  And suddenly there came a sound from heaven as of a rushing mighty wind, and it filled all the house where they were sitting.
3  And there appeared unto them cloven tongues like as of fire, and it sat upon each of them.
4  And they were all filled with the Holy Ghost, and began to speak with other tongues, as the Spirit gave them utterance.

Do you see the prophecies of the Old Testament being fulfilled?  Let’s look and see…..

Isaiah 28:11-12
11  For with stammering lips and another tongue will he speak to this people.
12  To whom he said, This is the rest wherewith ye may cause the weary to rest; and this is the refreshing: yet they would not hear.

Acts 2:3-4
3  And there appeared unto them cloven tongues like as of fire, and it sat upon each of them.
4  And they were all filled with the Holy Ghost, and began to speak with other tongues, as the Spirit gave them utterance.

The prophecy of Isaiah fulfilled!!

Joel 2:28-29
28  And it shall come to pass afterward, that I will pour out my spirit upon all flesh; and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, your old men shall dream dreams, your young men shall see visions:
29  And also upon the servants and upon the handmaids in those days will I pour out my spirit.

Acts 2:14-18
14  But Peter, standing up with the eleven, lifted up his voice, and said unto them, Ye men of Judaea, and all ye that dwell at Jerusalem, be this known unto you, and hearken to my words:
15  For these are not drunken, as ye suppose, seeing it is but the third hour of the day.
16  But this is that which was spoken by the prophet Joel;
17  And it shall come to pass in the last days, saith God, I will pour out of my Spirit upon all flesh: and your sons and your daughters shall prophesy, and your young men shall see visions, and your old men shall dream dreams:
18  And on my servants and on my handmaidens I will pour out in those days of my Spirit; and they shall prophesy:

The prophecy of Joel fulfilled!!

Jeremiah 31:31-34
31  Behold, the days come, saith the LORD, that I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel, and with the house of Judah:
32  Not according to the covenant that I made with their fathers in the day that I took them by the hand to bring them out of the land of Egypt; which my covenant they brake, although I was an husband unto them, saith the LORD:
33  But this shall be the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel; After those days, saith the LORD, I will put my law in their inward parts, and write it in their hearts; and will be their God, and they shall be my people.
34  And they shall teach no more every man his neighbour, and every man his brother, saying, Know the LORD: for they shall all know me, from the least of them unto the greatest of them, saith the LORD: for I will forgive their iniquity, and I will remember their sin no more.

The Prophet Jeremiah is speaking of the New Covenant that was to be established.  This Covenant is referring to the New Testament Covenant that we are living under today.  That Covenant…

Hebrews 8:6-13
6  But now hath he obtained a more excellent ministry, by how much also he is the mediator of a better covenant, which was established upon better promises.
7  For if that first covenant had been faultless, then should no place have been sought for the second.
8  For finding fault with them, he saith, Behold, the days come, saith the Lord, when I will make a new covenant with the house of Israel and with the house of Judah:
9  Not according to the covenant that I made with their fathers in the day when I took them by the hand to lead them out of the land of Egypt; because they continued not in my covenant, and I regarded them not, saith the Lord.
10  For this is the covenant that I will make with the house of Israel after those days, saith the Lord; I will put my laws into their mind, and write them in their hearts: and I will be to them a God, and they shall be to me a people:
11  And they shall not teach every man his neighbour, and every man his brother, saying, Know the Lord: for all shall know me, from the least to the greatest.
12  For I will be merciful to their unrighteousness, and their sins and their iniquities will I remember no more.
13  In that he saith, A new covenant, he hath made the first old. Now that which decayeth and waxeth old is ready to vanish away.

The prophecy of Jeremiah of the New Covenant fulfilled!!

After the Holy Ghost was poured out and the Apostle Peter explained to all the people present that this was the fulfilling of what the Prophet Joel had prophesied, he went on to tell all the people that was present how they could now partake of the New Testament Covenant that was just fulfilled.

Acts 2:36-39
36  Therefore let all the house of Israel know assuredly, that God hath made that same Jesus, whom ye have crucified, both Lord and Christ.
37  Now when they heard this, they were pricked in their heart, and said unto Peter and to the rest of the apostles, Men and brethren, what shall we do?
38  Then Peter said unto them, Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost.
39  For the promise is unto you, and to your children, and to all that are afar off, even as many as the Lord our God shall call.

Now that we understand the New Testament fulfillment of these Old Testament prophecies in full detail, as well as how the New Covenant was established by God, we will bring our study to a close and will further expound on the Gift of the Holy Ghost in our next study entitled, “Forbid not to Speak with Tongues”.

To download any of our free audio or written sermons or to listen to our free radio station be sure to visit us @ http://www.ensnaredindistractions.com/

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

