Connecting Point Ministries

July 13, 2017

Who The “Us” is of Genesis 1:26 – “Oneness in the Spotlight”

Filed under: God, Jesus — Tags: , , , , — cpministries @ 10:11 pm

If this still isn’t enough proof that Jesus is God the Father, I’d like to continue with more scriptures and some questions to help you better understand the Godhead.

For this we’ll begin with the book of John. Concerning Jesus Christ.

John 1:10
10 He was in the world, and the world was made by him, and the world knew him not.
11 He came unto his own, and his own received him not.
12 But as many as received him, to them gave he power to become the sons of God, even to them that believe on his name:
13 Which were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God.
14 And the Word was made flesh, and dwelt among us, (and we beheld his glory, the glory as of the only begotten of the Father,) full of grace and truth.

John 1:15
15 John bare witness of him, and cried, saying, This was he of whom I spake, He that cometh after me is preferred before me: for he was before me.

Here John makes the reference that Jesus Christ was He that cometh after me and then says that Jesus was before me. So now we see that John the Baptist has said that Jesus Christ existed before him. The question that should come to one’s mind is how? For this answer, let’s look at a couple of examples of what Jesus Christ tells us and also what Apostle John tells us.

Listen to these answers that Jesus gives to the Jews.

John 8:56-58
56 Your father Abraham rejoiced to see my day: and he saw it, and was glad.
57 Then said the Jews unto him, Thou art not yet fifty years old, and hast thou seen Abraham?
58 Jesus said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, Before Abraham was, I am.
59 Then took they up stones to cast at him: but Jesus hid himself, and went out of the temple, going through the midst of them, and so passed by.

Here Jesus has claimed to be God by saying that He was the “I am” from Exodus 3:13-14. The Jews also understood that Jesus just claimed to be God and picked up stones to try to kill Him. Let’s read the account in the book of Exodus.

Exo 3:13-14
13 And Moses said unto God, Behold, when I come unto the children of Israel, and shall say unto them, The God of your fathers hath sent me unto you; and they shall say to me, What is his name? what shall I say unto them?
14 And God said unto Moses, I AM THAT I AM: and he said, Thus shalt thou say unto the children of Israel, I AM hath sent me unto you.

Next example.

Matt 22:41-46
41 While the Pharisees were gathered together, Jesus asked them,
42 Saying, What think ye of Christ? whose son is he? They say unto him, The son of David.
43 He saith unto them, How then doth David in spirit call him Lord, saying,
44 The Lord said unto my Lord, Sit thou on my right hand, till I make thine enemies thy footstool?
45 If David then call him Lord, how is he his son?
46 And no man was able to answer him a word, neither durst any man from that day forth ask him any more questions.

So what does John continue to tell us

John 1:18
18 No man hath seen God at any time; the only begotten Son, which is in the bosom of the Father, he hath declared him.

John has just revealed to us that Jesus is in the bosom of the Father.

John 5:17-19
17 But Jesus answered them, My Father worketh hitherto, and I work.
18 Therefore the Jews sought the more to kill him, because he not only had broken the sabbath, but said also that God was his Father, making himself equal with God.
19 Then answered Jesus and said unto them, Verily, verily, I say unto you, The Son can do nothing of himself, but what he seeth the Father do: for what things soever he doeth, these also doeth the Son likewise.

Here the Jews have picked up stones to kill Him because Jesus made himself equal to God, and the Jews know the first commandment that God gave unto them which was:

Deuteronomy 6:4-5
4 Hear, O Israel: The LORD our God is one LORD:
5 And thou shalt love the LORD thy God with all thine heart, and with all thy soul, and with all thy might.

So to the Jews, Jesus claiming equality to the Father, knowing that God is one, made them want to kill Jesus, instead of recognizing that Jesus is the one God as Emmanuel, God with us.

Matthew 1:23
23 Behold, a virgin shall be with child, and shall bring forth a son, and they shall call his name Emmanuel, which being interpreted is, God with us.

Listen to what Jesus tells us in John 10:30

John 10:30
30 I and my Father are one.

Here is another example of Jesus answering the Jews.

John 5:43
43 I am come in my Father’s name, and ye receive me not: if another shall come in his own name, him ye will receive.

Jesus just told us that He came in His father’s name. If the son of man called himself Jesus. What do you think is the name of his father?

All of these examples have supported what John the Baptist told us, which was that Jesus was before him.

In the next examples illustrating that Jesus is God we will be reading from:

John 11:41-43
41 Then they took away the stone from the place where the dead was laid. And Jesus lifted up his eyes, and said, Father, I thank thee that thou hast heard me.
42 And I knew that thou hearest me always: but because of the people which stand by I said it, that they may believe that thou hast sent me.
43 And when he thus had spoken, he cried with a loud voice, Lazarus, come forth.

Here Jesus tells us plainly that the only reason He spoke, Father, I thank thee that thou hast heard me, was so the people around listening would give God the glory and not give the glory to a man. This can be further backed in:

John 12:23-30
23 And Jesus answered them, saying, The hour is come, that the Son of man should be glorified.
24 Verily, verily, I say unto you, Except a corn of wheat fall into the ground and die, it abideth alone: but if it die, it bringeth forth much fruit.
25 He that loveth his life shall lose it; and he that hateth his life in this world shall keep it unto life eternal.
26 If any man serve me, let him follow me; and where I am, there shall also my servant be: if any man serve me, him will my Father honour.
27 Now is my soul troubled; and what shall I say? Father, save me from this hour: but for this cause came I unto this hour.
28 Father, glorify thy name. Then came there a voice from heaven, saying, I have both glorified it, and will glorify it again.
29 The people therefore, that stood by, and heard it, said that it thundered: others said, An angel spake to him.
30 Jesus answered and said, This voice came not because of me, but for your sakes.

Here not only does Jesus remind the people why the voice came, but He said in verse 23, the hour is come that the Son of man should be glorified, then in verse 28, says Father, glorify thy name. The Father was glorified in the name of the Son, which was about to die on the cross of Calvary for our sins.

Listen to what Jesus tells us in:

John 12:44 and in John 13:20
44 Jesus cried and said, He that believeth on me, believeth not on me, but on him that sent me.

John 13:20
20 Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that receiveth whomsoever I send receiveth me; and he that receiveth me receiveth him that sent me.

Here we are told that if you believe on Jesus you do not believe on Jesus, but rather on God who sent Him. Also we were told, if you receive, Jesus you also receive God that sent Him.

At this time I would like to expound some on John chapter 14 which is a very important chapter for understanding the Spirit of God.

John 14:1-18
1 Let not your heart be troubled: ye believe in God, believe also in me.
2 In my Father’s house are many mansions: if it were not so, I would have told you. I go to prepare a place for you.
3 And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.
4 And whither I go ye know, and the way ye know.
5 Thomas saith unto him, Lord, we know not whither thou goest; and how can we know the way?
6 Jesus saith unto him, I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.

Here we are told that Jesus is the only way, truth, and He is the life.

7 If ye had known me, ye should have known my Father also: and from henceforth ye know him, and have seen him.

Jesus again, claims to be God. This confused Philip.

8 Philip saith unto him, Lord, show us the Father, and it sufficeth us.
9 Jesus saith unto him, Have I been so long time with you, and yet hast thou not known me, Philip? he that hath seen me hath seen the Father; and how sayest thou then, Show us the Father?
10 Believest thou not that I am in the Father, and the Father in me? the words that I speak unto you I speak not of myself: but the Father that dwelleth in me, he doeth the works.
11 Believe me that I am in the Father, and the Father in me: or else believe me for the very works’ sake.
12 Verily, verily, I say unto you, He that believeth on me, the works that I do shall he do also; and greater works than these shall he do; because I go unto my Father.
13 And whatsoever ye shall ask in my name, that will I do, that the Father may be glorified in the Son.
14 If ye shall ask any thing in my name, I will do it.
15 If ye love me, keep my commandments.

Jesus answered Philip and told him that the words which He spoke was the Father that dwelled in Him, that God doeth the works, and that when you see Jesus, you have seen the Father, so how can you ask to see the Father, when I am standing right in front of you.

16 And I will pray the Father, and he shall give you another Comforter, that he may abide with you for ever;

Now Jesus has told us that God is going to send another, the Comforter that he may abide with us for ever.

17 Even the Spirit of truth; whom the world cannot receive, because it seeth him not, neither knoweth him: but ye know him; for he dwelleth with you, and shall be in you.
18 I will not leave you comfortless: I will come to you.

Here Jesus has claimed to be that Comforter and the Spirit of Truth, which is the Holy Ghost. So now we see that Jesus is the Father, Jesus is the Son, and Jesus is the Holy Ghost.

John 14:26-27
26 But the Comforter, which is the Holy Ghost, whom the Father will send in my name, he shall teach you all things, and bring all things to your remembrance, whatsoever I have said unto you.
27 Peace I leave with you, my peace I give unto you: not as the world giveth, give I unto you. Let not your heart be troubled, neither let it be afraid.

Jesus continues in John 15:26-27 and tells us:

John 15:26-27
26 But when the Comforter is come, whom I will send unto you from the Father, even the Spirit of truth, which proceedeth from the Father, he shall testify of me:
27 And ye also shall bear witness, because ye have been with me from the beginning.

With this new knowledge of who Jesus Christ is, lets hear what Jesus tells us in:

John 3:13
13 And no man hath ascended up to heaven, but he that came down from heaven, even the Son of man which is in heaven.

This was Jesus again telling us that He was God. That not only was He speaking the words, but also He was in heaven.

Even though this sounds confusing, remember what we covered in the first lesson in:

John 16:25-32
25 These things have I spoken unto you in proverbs: but the time cometh, when I shall no more speak unto you in proverbs, but I shall show you plainly of the Father.

Now Jesus is going to tell them plainly of the Father and is not speaking in a proverb.

26 At that day ye shall ask in my name: and I say not unto you, that I will pray the Father for you:
27 For the Father himself loveth you, because ye have loved me, and have believed that I came out from God.
28 I came forth from the Father, and am come into the world: again, I leave the world, and go to the Father.
29 His disciples said unto him, Lo, now speakest thou plainly, and speakest no proverb.
30 Now are we sure that thou knowest all things, and needest not that any man should ask thee: by this we believe that thou camest forth from God.
31 Jesus answered them, Do ye now believe?

They understood that Jesus came out from God. Not that Jesus was the 2nd person in the Godhead. Then Jesus continues on and explains that the disciples understood what He had just told them in:

John 17:1-8
17:1 These words spake Jesus, and lifted up his eyes to heaven, and said, Father, the hour is come; glorify thy Son, that thy Son also may glorify thee:

This will be the second time that God glorifies his name through His Son.

2 As thou hast given him power over all flesh, that he should give eternal life to as many as thou hast given him.
3 And this is life eternal, that they might know thee the only true God, and Jesus Christ, whom thou hast sent.
4 I have glorified thee on the earth: I have finished the work which thou gavest me to do.
5 And now, O Father, glorify thou me with thine own self with the glory which I had with thee before the world was.
6 I have manifested thy name unto the men which thou gavest me out of the world: thine they were, and thou gavest them me; and they have kept thy word.

Jesus tells us again, that He manifested God’s name. That name is Jesus. If you still don’t think so, then what name was Jesus referring to, when He said that He has manifested God’s name?

7 Now they have known that all things whatsoever thou hast given me are of thee.
8 For I have given unto them the words which thou gavest me; and they have received them, and have known surely that I came out from thee, and they have believed that thou didst send me.

Jesus testifies that the disciples surely understood that Jesus came out of God. Thus Emmanuel, God with us. 100% man. 100% God.

Let’s see again what the LORD said in:
Isa 43:10-11
10 Ye are my witnesses, saith the LORD, and my servant whom I have chosen: that ye may know and believe me, and understand that I am he: before me there was no God formed, neither shall there be after me.
11 I, even I, am the LORD; and beside me there is no saviour

John 17:26 Jesus tells us:
26 And I have declared unto them thy name, and will declare it: that the love wherewith thou hast loved me may be in them, and I in them.

That name that Jesus declared, Must have been Jesus. For he gave no other name.
Listen to what Thomas says to Jesus when He appears unto him.

John 20:26-28
26 And after eight days again his disciples were within, and Thomas with them: then came Jesus, the doors being shut, and stood in the midst, and said, Peace be unto you.
27 Then saith he to Thomas, Reach hither thy finger, and behold my hands; and reach hither thy hand, and thrust it into my side: and be not faithless, but believing.
28 And Thomas answered and said unto him, My Lord and my God.

Thomas also now understood, and called Jesus his Lord and his God.

So you may be wondering what the reason was for Jesus keeping his name secret in the old testament? The answer for this is found in

I Cor 2:7
7 But we speak the wisdom of God in a mystery, even the hidden wisdom, which God ordained before the world unto our glory:
8 Which none of the princes of this world knew: for had they known it, they would not have crucified the Lord of glory.

At this time if you are still believe Trinity instead of the Oneness of God, I would like to give you a run down and some more questions to further explain the Oneness of God. For this I would like to give a condensed example.

God the Word ( John 1:1) became flesh (Jesus) (John 1:14) upon being conceived by Mary, whom the Holy Ghost hovered over. (Luke 1:35) Notice that 1) the Holy Ghost does not have a name. Yet all Angels, Man, and God have and had names. So then why would the Holy Ghost be a third individual without a name? And
2) the Holy Ghost hovered over Mary and not the Father so this would make the Holy Ghost the father of Jesus and not God being the Father of Jesus. Also, if the Holy Ghost can be in every person on planet Earth; that wouldn’t make the Holy Ghost 6.5 billion Individuals that make up the Holy Ghost. So then, if the Holy Ghost can be one, yet in 6.5 billion different people, how then is it hard to see that one God can manifest himself as an infinite number, yet still only be one God.

At this time I would like to bring your attention to one called Melchisedec.

 

Gen 14:18-20
18 And Melchizedek king of Salem brought forth bread and wine: and he was the priest of the most high God.
19 And he blessed him, and said, Blessed be Abram of the most high God, possessor of heaven and earth:
20 And blessed be the most high God, which hath delivered thine enemies into thy hand. And he gave him tithes of all.

Here we read of a Melchizedek, who is the king of Salem and that he was the priest of the most high God. We also learn that Abram pays tithes to Melchizedek.

Now let’s read about Melchizedek in the book of Hebrews to better understand who he is.

Hebrews 6:20 Whither the forerunner is for us entered, even Jesus, made an high priest for ever after the order of Melchisedec.

We now see that Jesus has been made our high priest after the order of this Melchisedec.

7:1 For this Melchisedec, king of Salem, priest of the most high God, who met Abraham returning from the slaughter of the kings, and blessed him;
2 To whom also Abraham gave a tenth part of all; first being by interpretation King of righteousness, and after that also King of Salem, which is, King of peace;
3 Without father, without mother, without descent, having neither beginning of days, nor end of life; but made like unto the Son of God; abideth a priest continually.

Here we are told some very important things concerning Melchisedec. He was the
King of Righteousness, the King of Salem, the King of Peace. Without father, without mother, without descent, having no beginning of days, nor end of life; and made like unto the Son of God; and abides a priest continually.

Many people try to pass off Melchisedec as being just a man, and try to say that he was without mother and father because they didn’t know his lineage. This is a very naive statement for many reasons. Lets discuss a few. The Holy Ghost can easily reveal lineage. Since in the book of Luke 3:23-38, they give the lineage of Christ clear back to Adam, the son of God. This belief system completely ignores the wording of this verse which tells us he was without beginning of days, nor end of life. That is very clear, that he never had end of life. The verses also tell us that Melchisedec was made like unto the Son of God. What natural man could be like unto the Son of God? What man could fulfill being the King of righteousness, the King of Peace? Since the prophet Isaiah tells us in 64:6 But we are all as an unclean thing, and all our righteousnesses are as filthy rags. Let’s continue to read about Melchisedec.

(Continuing) Hebrews 7:4
4 Now consider how great this man was, unto whom even the patriarch Abraham gave the tenth of the spoils.
5 And verily they that are of the sons of Levi, who receive the office of the priesthood, have a commandment to take tithes of the people according to the law, that is, of their brethren, though they come out of the loins of Abraham:
6 But he whose descent is not counted from them received tithes of Abraham, and blessed him that had the promises.
7 And without all contradiction the less is blessed of the better.
8 And here men that die receive tithes; but there he receiveth them, of whom it is witnessed that he liveth.
9 And as I may so say, Levi also, who receiveth tithes, payed tithes in Abraham.
10 For he was yet in the loins of his father, when Melchisedec met him.

These verses tell us that the sons of Levi paid tithes to Melchisedec even though they were in the loins of Abraham.

Continuing
11 If therefore perfection were by the Levitical priesthood, (for under it the people received the law,) what further need was there that another priest should rise after the order of Melchisedec, and not be called after the order of Aaron?
12 For the priesthood being changed, there is made of necessity a change also of the law.
13 For he of whom these things are spoken pertaineth to another tribe, of which no man gave attendance at the altar.
14 For it is evident that our Lord sprang out of Juda; of which tribe Moses spake nothing concerning priesthood.

These verses explain to us that God changed the priesthood, and since he changed the priesthood, out of necessity he also changed the law. That new law is the Law of Liberty, of which we now are free from the law of sin and death because Jesus died on the Cross and took back the keys of death and hell, and as many that are born again, and obey the New Testament and it’s commandments, through the Faith of Jesus Christ, we have eternal life.

This next verse is extremely important concerning the belief system that Melchisedec was just a man. It reads

15 And it is yet far more evident: for that after the similitude of Melchisedec there ariseth another priest,

That priest was Jesus Christ. And this verse just told us that Jesus was after the similitude of Melchisedec. How then seeing that Jesus was Emmanuel, being interpreted God with us, can you compare him to only a flesh and blood man? Since Emmanuel was God with us, we know that God had no beginning of days, nor does he have end of life. The only way that Melchisedec could be similiar to Jesus Christ. Would be that Melchisedec never had beginning of days, nor end of life, which was clearly stated as well as the fact that verse three also tells us that he was made like unto the Son of God.

Let’s reread Hebrews 7 verses 2 & 3.
2 To whom also Abraham gave a tenth part of all; first being by interpretation King of righteousness, and after that also King of Salem, which is, King of peace;

Since we know that Jesus is in the similitude of Melchisedec. Notice Melchisedec was the King of Peace, and that Jesus Christ is the Prince of Peace.

Verse 3
3 Without father, without mother, without descent, having neither beginning of days, nor end of life; but made like unto the Son of God; abideth a priest continually.

Notice that it tells us that he abideth a priest continually. That means that he still is a priest. And since it also tells us he neither had beginning of days nor end of life, that means that if you are a Trinitarian person you will either continue to say that Jesus came after the order of a man that was King of Righteousness or that now there is a fourth deity in the Godhead. Just because in I John 5:7 it says there are three that bear record in heaven, does not mean that Melchisedec ceased to exist.

Continuing at verse 20 and it reads.
20 And inasmuch as not without an oath he (Jesus) was made priest:
21 (For those priests were made without an oath; but this with an oath by him that said unto him, The Lord sware and will not repent, Thou art a priest for ever after the order of Melchisedec:)
22 By so much was Jesus made a surety of a better testament.
23 And they truly were many priests, because they were not suffered to continue by reason of death:
24 But this man, because he continueth ever, hath an unchangeable priesthood.
25 Wherefore he is able also to save them to the uttermost that come unto God by him, seeing he ever liveth to make intercession for them.

So there are three that bear record in heaven: the father (God), the Word (God), and the Holy Ghost (God), (I John 5:7), and these three are one, named Jesus. Just as Melchisedec (God) is another manifestation of God. That would mean if you are Trinity, he is still alive, even though he doesn’t bare record. So then, that would now make God four separate individuals not three. Just because he doesn’t bare record, doesn’t make him non-existent. So Melchisedec can not be overlooked or ignored. He was a manifestation of God. Many Trinitarians call Oneness people heretics for saying that, God is one God, who manifested himself as Jesus and the Holy Ghost, and these three are one whose name is Jesus. Melchisedec was existent not as a fourth individual in the God head, but as the One God who is capable of manifesting himself as anything, anywhere, in any number, at any time. Just like he appeared as the burning bush (Exo 3:5) and as a Rock in the wilderness that followed Moses .(I Cor 10:4) These just being more examples of how He is all powerful, just as he appeared in the fiery furnace in Daniel. (Dan3:25)

We look at our own body made in his image. And I see one body, that is made up of three: Body, Soul, and Spirit. Yet I am only one person. Just as spiritually Jesus was one body made up of three: God, Jesus, and the Holy Ghost.

At this time it is important to discuss Salvation and Baptism.

I Peter 1:10-12
10 Of which salvation the prophets have inquired and searched diligently, who prophesied of the grace that should come unto you:
11 Searching what, or what manner of time the Spirit of Christ which was in them did signify, when it testified beforehand the sufferings of Christ, and the glory that should follow.
12 Unto whom it was revealed, that not unto themselves, but unto us they did minister the things, which are now reported unto you by them that have preached the gospel unto you with the Holy Ghost sent down from heaven; which things the angels desire to look into.

I Peter 1:22-25
22 Seeing ye have purified your souls in obeying the truth through the Spirit unto unfeigned love of the brethren, see that ye love one another with a pure heart fervently:
23 Being born again, not of corruptible seed, but of incorruptible, by the word of God, which liveth and abideth for ever.
24 For all flesh is as grass, and all the glory of man as the flower of grass. The grass withereth, and the flower thereof falleth away:
25 But the word of the Lord endureth for ever. And this is the word which by the gospel is preached unto you.

BAPTISM

John 1:12-13
12 But as many as received him, to them gave he power to become the sons of God, even to them that believe on his name:
13 Which were born, not of blood, nor of the will of the flesh, nor of the will of man, but of God.

So how do you become born of God?

John 3:5-6
5 Jesus answered, Verily, verily, I say unto thee, Except a man be born of water and of the Spirit, he cannot enter into the kingdom of God.
6 That which is born of the flesh is flesh; and that which is born of the Spirit is spirit.

The first thing of importance to take notice of is that in the New Testament there is two areas that tell us how we should be baptized.

Matt 28:19
19 Go ye therefore, and teach all nations, baptizing them in the name of the Father, and of the Son, and of the Holy Ghost:

And

Acts 2:36-39
36 Therefore let all the house of Israel know assuredly, that God hath made that same Jesus, whom ye have crucified, both Lord and Christ.
37 Now when they heard this, they were pricked in their heart, and said unto Peter and to the rest of the apostles, Men and brethren, what shall we do?
38 Then Peter said unto them, Repent, and be baptized every one of you in the name of Jesus Christ for the remission of sins, and ye shall receive the gift of the Holy Ghost.
39 For the promise is unto you, and to your children, and to all that are afar off, even as many as the Lord our God shall call.

At this point in our lessons I hope that you can now understand that Matthew 28:19 was fulfilled in Acts 2:38. If you are still uncertain, the first thing you should notice is, why does many religions disregard this scripture. Many try to claim, I’m just going to do what Jesus said. Well if that is the case, then you may want to reconsider two things: that Jesus said unto Simon Peter upon this rock I will build my church and I give you the keys to the Kingdom of Heaven. And that Jesus revealed all things unto the apostles and sent them to Jerusalem to wait to be endued with power on High and that repentance and remission of sins should be preached in his name among all nations, beginning at Jerusalem. Thus the reason why Peter told them to be baptized in Jesus name, Jesus himself told them to do this.

Matthew 16:18-19
18 And I say also unto thee, That thou art Peter, and upon this rock I will build my church; and the gates of hell shall not prevail against it.
19 And I will give unto thee the keys of the kingdom of heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt bind on earth shall be bound in heaven: and whatsoever thou shalt loose on earth shall be loosed in heaven.

Luke 22:31-32
31 And the Lord said, Simon, Simon, behold, Satan hath desired to have you, that he may sift you as wheat:
32 But I have prayed for thee, that thy faith fail not: and when thou art converted, strengthen thy brethren.

Luke 24:44-49
44 And he said unto them, These are the words which I spake unto you, while I was yet with you, that all things must be fulfilled, which were written in the law of Moses, and in the prophets, and in the psalms, concerning me.
45 Then opened he their understanding, that they might understand the scriptures,
46 And said unto them, Thus it is written, and thus it behoved Christ to suffer, and to rise from the dead the third day:
47 And that repentance and remission of sins should be preached in his name among all nations, beginning at Jerusalem.
48 And ye are witnesses of these things.
49 And, behold, I send the promise of my Father upon you: but tarry ye in the city of Jerusalem, until ye be endued with power from on high.

Compare these scripture accounts:

Matthew 1:21
21 And she shall bring forth a son, and thou shalt call his name JESUS: for he shall save his people from their sins.

Acts 4:10-12
10 Be it known unto you all, and to all the people of Israel, that by the name of Jesus Christ of Nazareth, whom ye crucified, whom God raised from the dead, even by him doth this man stand here before you whole.
11 This is the stone which was set at nought of you builders, which is become the head of the corner.
12 Neither is there salvation in any other: for there is none other name under heaven given among men, whereby we must be saved.

Isa 43:10-11
10 Ye are my witnesses, saith the LORD, and my servant whom I have chosen: that ye may know and believe me, and understand that I am he: before me there was no God formed, neither shall there be after me.
11 I, even I, am the LORD; and beside me there is no saviour.

Luke 3:4-6
4 As it is written in the book of the words of Esaias the prophet, saying, The voice of one crying in the wilderness, Prepare ye the way of the Lord, make his paths straight.
5 Every valley shall be filled, and every mountain and hill shall be brought low; and the crooked shall be made straight, and the rough ways shall be made smooth;
6 And all flesh shall see the salvation of God.

So we see that the salvation of God is Jesus. So it is very important that when you are baptized you take on the name of Jesus Christ. Important enough that Apostle Paul tells us to put on the Lord Jesus Christ.

Romans 13:11-14
11 And that, knowing the time, that now it is high time to awake out of sleep: for now is our salvation nearer than when we believed.
12 The night is far spent, the day is at hand: let us therefore cast off the works of darkness, and let us put on the armour of light.
13 Let us walk honestly, as in the day; not in rioting and drunkenness, not in chambering and wantonness, not in strife and envying.
14 But put ye on the Lord Jesus Christ, and make not provision for the flesh, to fulfil the lusts thereof.

So how do you put on the Lord Jesus Christ?

Galatians 3:27
27 For as many of you as have been baptized into Christ have put on Christ.

So to put on the Lord Jesus Christ you must be baptized into His name.

Romans 6:3-4
3 Know ye not, that so many of us as were baptized into Jesus Christ were baptized into his death?
4 Therefore we are buried with him by baptism into death: that like as Christ was raised up from the dead by the glory of the Father, even so we also should walk in newness of life.

In the book of Colossians we receive a warning from Apostle Paul.

Col 2:8-15
8 Beware lest any man spoil you through philosophy and vain deceit, after the tradition of men, after the rudiments of the world, and not after Christ.
9 For in him dwelleth all the fulness of the Godhead bodily.
10 And ye are complete in him, which is the head of all principality and power:
11 In whom also ye are circumcised with the circumcision made without hands, in putting off the body of the sins of the flesh by the circumcision of Christ:
12 Buried with him in baptism, wherein also ye are risen with him through the faith of the operation of God, who hath raised him from the dead.
13 And you, being dead in your sins and the uncircumcision of your flesh, hath he quickened together with him, having forgiven you all trespasses;
14 Blotting out the handwriting of ordinances that was against us, which was contrary to us, and took it out of the way, nailing it to his cross;
15 And having spoiled principalities and powers, he made a show of them openly, triumphing over them in it.

This name of Jesus is so important that we are told:

Col 3:17
17 And whatsoever ye do in word or deed, do all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God and the Father by him.

This would include the Baptism.

So what is the record that God gave to His Son?

I John 5:10-11
10 He that believeth on the Son of God hath the witness in himself: he that believeth not God hath made him a liar; because he believeth not the record that God gave of his Son.
11 And this is the record, that God hath given to us eternal life, and this life is in his Son.

I John 5:20
20 And we know that the Son of God is come, and hath given us an understanding, that we may know him that is true, and we are in him that is true, even in his Son Jesus Christ. This is the true God, and eternal life.

This verse above is very plain on Jesus Christ being the true God.

Another warning that we are giving is from Apostle John.

II John 1:9
9 Whosoever transgresseth, and abideth not in the doctrine of Christ, hath not God. He that abideth in the doctrine of Christ, he hath both the Father and the Son.

The question you should have is what is the doctrine of Christ?

Romans 16:25-26
25 Now to him that is of power to stablish you according to my gospel, and the preaching of Jesus Christ, according to the revelation of the mystery, which was kept secret since the world began,
26 But now is made manifest, and by the scriptures of the prophets, according to the commandment of the everlasting God, made known to all nations for the obedience of faith:

This doctrine of Christ, is the gospel of Jesus Christ, which was kept secret since the world began.

Recall I Cor 2:7
7 But we speak the wisdom of God in a mystery, even the hidden wisdom, which God ordained before the world unto our glory:
8 Which none of the princes of this world knew: for had they known it, they would not have crucified the Lord of glory.

This gospel of Jesus Christ is the Everlasting Gospel.

Galatians 3:7-9
7 Know ye therefore that they which are of faith, the same are the children of Abraham.
8 And the scripture, foreseeing that God would justify the heathen through faith, preached before the gospel unto Abraham, saying, In thee shall all nations be blessed.
9 So then they which be of faith are blessed with faithful Abraham.

To further see the Oneness of God, lets close this lesson with the book of Revelation.

Rev 3:21
21 To him that overcometh will I grant to sit with me in my throne, even as I also overcame, and am set down with my Father in his throne.

Notice that it is one throne.

Rev 4:2-11; 5:1
2 And immediately I was in the spirit; and, behold, a throne was set in heaven, and one sat on the throne.
3 And he that sat was to look upon like a jasper and a sardine stone: and there was a rainbow round about the throne, in sight like unto an emerald.
4 And round about the throne were four and twenty seats: and upon the seats I saw four and twenty elders sitting, clothed in white raiment; and they had on their heads crowns of gold.
5 And out of the throne proceeded lightnings and thunderings and voices: and there were seven lamps of fire burning before the throne, which are the seven Spirits of God.
6 And before the throne there was a sea of glass like unto crystal: and in the midst of the throne, and round about the throne, were four beasts full of eyes before and behind.
7 And the first beast was like a lion, and the second beast like a calf, and the third beast had a face as a man, and the fourth beast was like a flying eagle.
8 And the four beasts had each of them six wings about him; and they were full of eyes within: and they rest not day and night, saying, Holy, holy, holy, Lord God Almighty, which was, and is, and is to come.
9 And when those beasts give glory and honour and thanks to him that sat on the throne, who liveth for ever and ever,
10 The four and twenty elders fall down before him that sat on the throne, and worship him that liveth for ever and ever, and cast their crowns before the throne, saying,
11 Thou art worthy, O Lord, to receive glory and honour and power: for thou hast created all things, and for thy pleasure they are and were created.
5:1 And I saw in the right hand of him that sat on the throne a book written within and on the backside, sealed with seven seals.

Again Notice that there is one throne.

Rev 6:14-17
14 And the heaven departed as a scroll when it is rolled together; and every mountain and island were moved out of their places.
15 And the kings of the earth, and the great men, and the rich men, and the chief captains, and the mighty men, and every bondman, and every free man, hid themselves in the dens and in the rocks of the mountains;
16 And said to the mountains and rocks, Fall on us, and hide us from the face of him that sitteth on the throne, and from the wrath of the Lamb:
17 For the great day of his wrath is come; and who shall be able to stand?

Again we see that the people on Earth see one throne.

Rev 7:15-17
15 Therefore are they before the throne of God, and serve him day and night in his temple: and he that sitteth on the throne shall dwell among them.
16 They shall hunger no more, neither thirst any more; neither shall the sun light on them, nor any heat.
17 For the Lamb which is in the midst of the throne shall feed them, and shall lead them unto living fountains of waters: and God shall wipe away all tears from their eyes.

Here again we see one throne that the Lamb (Jesus) is in the midst of. These examples are to reinforce to you that the reason there is one throne is because there is one God whose name is Jesus.

Rev 12:5
5 And she brought forth a man child, who was to rule all nations with a rod of iron: and her child was caught up unto God, and to his throne.

Notice that this example states that her child (Jesus) was caught up unto God, and to his throne.

Rev 21:5-6
5 And he that sat upon the throne said, Behold, I make all things new. And he said unto me, Write: for these words are true and faithful.
6 And he said unto me, It is done. I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the end. I will give unto him that is athirst of the fountain of the water of life freely.

Rev 22 1-4
1 And he showed me a pure river of water of life, clear as crystal, proceeding out of the throne of God and of the Lamb.
2 In the midst of the street of it, and on either side of the river, was there the tree of life, which bare twelve manner of fruits, and yielded her fruit every month: and the leaves of the tree were for the healing of the nations.
3 And there shall be no more curse: but the throne of God and of the Lamb shall be in it; and his servants shall serve him:
4 And they shall see his face; and his name shall be in their foreheads.

Notice that there is one throne. Not three thrones of which Jesus sets beside his Father on the right side.

This concludes the end of Lesson 2. In the next Lesson on “Who the Us is of Genesis 1:26”, entitled “To The Only Wise God”, we will be giving many scriptures to show who the Lord was referring to on the great day that He created man in His image.

To download any of our free audio or written sermons or to listen to our free radio station be sure to visit us @ http://www.ensnaredindistractions.com/

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

